Welcome to Zilla Praja Parishad Kurnool Governament of Andhra Pradesh Our State-Our Pride. Front View of Kondareddy Buruju ` Our tribute to Dr.APJ Abdul Kalam

Sri. M. Rajasekhar

Chief Executive Officer

Sri. M. Jayarami Reddy
Dy.Chief Executive Officer


Zilla Praja Parishads are functioning in the State from 01.11.1959. Earlier to 1959, there were District Boards constituted under AP Andhra Area District Boards Act, 1920 and AP Telangana Area District Boards Act, 1955. The Balwant Rai Mehata Committee has recommended constitution of three tier Panchayat Raj system as instruments of decentralization of power at various levels i.e., Village, Mandal, (or Block) and District level. Before the present enactment, the Zilla Praja Parishads and Mandal Praja Parishad were constituted under the AP Mandal Praja Parishads and Zilla Praja Parishads and Zilla Abhivriddi Sameeksha Mandals Act, 1986. In tune with the 73rd Constitutional amendment, the present Act i.e., AP Panchayat Raj Act, Act. No.13 of 1994 which came into force w.e.f., 30.05.1994 replacing the AP Gram Panchayat Act, 1964 and AP Mandal Praja Parishads, Zilla Praja Parishad, Zilla Abhivriddi Sameeksha Mandals Act, 1986. It is an integrated Act covering the provisions of Gram Panchayats, Mandal Praja Parishads and Zilla Praja Parishads bringing out some uniformity matters like elections, convening and conduct of meetings, relationship between each tier, administrative reports, budget and etc.